Cabinet of Curiosities

As I am reading email from work, I stopped to help a friend find a specific shadow box. Not only I found the shadow box for her, I came across this interesting post by MJ. What an intriguing item!!! The details are fantastic!
Enjoy!

This write life

February 26, 2012

By Mary Jo Gibson

Several weeks have passed since my last Cabinet of Curiosities, a change in work environment and new responsibilities have filled my hours since January.  But I am happy to share that these events have cycled through and I am able to return and share a new cabinet and other changes that will be coming to my blog.

This Cabinet is from the Metropolitan Museum in New York, once owned by Dominique Vivant-Denon, director of the mint and the Musee Napoleon (now the Musee du Louvre), as well as a collector and arbiter of taste during the Napoleonic period.  He accompanied the Egyptian campaign of 1798-99 as a draftsman and published his drawings in 1802.  The pylon at Ghoos, in Upper Egypt, served as the model for the top section of this medal cabinet, which was intended for Napoleon but remained in Denon’s…

View original post 1,235 more words

