Email Eavesdropping

I love to listen to National Public Radio while driving to and from work. Although I knew that our emails from any provider (Google, MSN, Yahoo...) can be subpena by our government, I did not know that these providers can sort of ‘eavesdropping’ on our emails. Let me share a couple of interesting facts I learned today!

As my norm, I listen to Tell Me More hosted by Michel McQueen Martin (one of my many favorites on the NPR) on my way home. Michel was speaking with her guest panel of the Barber Shop about the big scandal involving General Petraeus and Paula Broadwell (my heart and prayers going out for their families). I was about to turn the station because I was somewhat tired about hearing the news surrounding the two individuals, until I heard about the email account that they shared the same password. ‘Big deal: right? ‘ Well, what I did not know was the method they were using to communicate with one another is called a digital dead drop. You see, the couple would save a draft email and log into the account to read the email. ‘What’s wrong with that?’, you may ask. Apparently, this is the same method terrorists, like the al-Qaida, would use as a form of communication. Wow! One would think the Director of the Central Intelligence Agency would have known about such a protocol?  🙂

Another interesting note, one of the guests mentioned that draft emails may not even need to be subpena by court to be read. Also, depending on the state you live in may determine how your email can be accessed by the government. I found it very interesting to know that in my state (Florida), if you hold a public position, your emails are deemed public record.  Actually, I think this is for most states, if not all.

So,  I did a general Google search for any thing on email privacy laws and found the following links below. I hope you found the info as interesting as I did when reading the information on these links. Feel free to add your comments on this topic.   Remember, you don’t have to be someone working in the government or hold public office positions to fall victim of the ’email ease dropping’.  BEWARE! Know your state laws and regulations on email privacy and practice email etiquette. 🙂

Best regards!

Additional Reads

http://www.spamlaws.com/

http://www.netatty.com/privacy/privacy.html

http://consumer.findlaw.com/online-scams/email-privacy-concerns.html

2 comments

  1. thehealthywarrior · November 17, 2012

    I heard of this tactic being used by General Petraeus and Paula Broadwell last week. But I first heard of it a year or 2 ago when it was revealed that it was being used by terriorest. Very interesting if you had something to hide. My mom always said what you do in the dark will show up in the light.

    • Empowered Results · November 17, 2012

      Carol, How are you! Yes, that is so true! This was taught to me as well. The funny thing is, I always have draft emails in my accounts. This is how I remember to reply back to people. LOL! 🙂

Comments are closed.