Summer Ends & School Begins!

Monday begins the 2012-2013 school year for my grandson. Although I don’t look forward to the morning traffic, I do look forward to this school year with him. As you may have read in my post My Tax Free Weekend Experience As A Grandparent, I had the pleasure of getting his new uniforms while not having to pay any taxes. Since this is his last weekend before his routine begins, we are celebrating our own little Back To School events.

After going to the barber (which he did not really enjoy since his hair was not cut throughout summer), he decided he would like to go to Mc Donald’s to have lunch and talk about what he would like to learn this year in school- Science. He said, it was an interesting subject but doesn’t know how much they will really teach him in 1st grade. However, he promised to pay attention better than he did in Kindergarten. We came to an agreement, that we will get some books on the topic of Science for his age group. Also, if he does good during the first semester of school, he will get a telescope for Christmas and a microscope for his birthday.

We returned home to rest up before going to the Back to School event which will be held in Margate, FL. You can read more about our outing on my other blog, Food Aficionados, which will launch next week.

Tomorrow, we will go to the beach to build sand castles and take photos; go to a couple of parks; have ice cream; go to the toy and sports stores; and visit Barnes and Nobles to see about those Science books (any suggestions for me would be greatly appreciated). I will probably post some of the photos too!

Well, I am calling it a night (morning really). I got a busy day. However, I want to leave you the following poem by Diane Ackerman and may this school year brighten the lives of our future leaders!

SCHOOL PRAYER

In the name of the daybreak
and the eyelids of morning
and the wayfaring moon
and the night when it departs,

I swear I will not dishonor
my soul with hatred,
but offer myself humbly
as a guardian of nature,
as a healer of misery,
as a messenger of wonder,
as an architect of peace.

In the name of the sun and its mirrors
and the day that embraces it
and the cloud veils drawn over it
and the uttermost night
and the male and the female
and the plants bursting with seed
and the crowning seasons
of the firefly and the apple,

I will honor all life
—wherever and in whatever form
it may dwell—on Earth my home,
and in the mansions of the stars.

5 comments

  1. btg5885 · August 19, 2012

    Many thanks.

  2. thehealthywarrior · August 19, 2012

    I hope both you and your grandson will have a wonderful school year. That’s a lovely poem by the way.

  3. btg5885 · August 19, 2012

    Great poem. I have two off two college this week and my youngest headed to her high school sophomore year. I love the line “I will not dishonor my soul with hatred.” Many thanks for this and following my blog. Best regards, BTG

    • Empowered Results · August 19, 2012

      How wonderful! I was just followed by another blogger, , who recently post (http://nmnphx.wordpress.com/2012/08/18/ten-tips-for-surviving-the-first-semester-of-college/#comment-1107) Also, there were the following related articles below her post. Maybe the will help your children. I am getting ready to repost hers.

      50 Tips for College Students: Learn how to have a happy and successful college career. (www.psychologytoday.com)

      88 Surefire Tips for Succeeding in College (oedb.org)

      Renting College eTextbooks: Save $ and Save Your Back (sharechair.wordpress.com)

      Round Two, Begin! (wallcloud.wordpress.com)

      Second Year (mcclureglobalized.wordpress.com)

      College Dorm Checklist and More (amireallyincollege.wordpress.com)

Comments are closed.